X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wanted - Outdoor Project Advice

I've just finished sketching out plans for a new outdoor cabinet for my ceramic cooker (Big Greeen Egg) and a walk up bar on the deck. At the last minute I've been considering doing a ceramic top for both the BBQ cabinet and bar to add some additional interest. I've not had a lot of experiance with tile and was hoping someone could point me in the right direction as far as the use of tile in an outdoor application. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
    Wood Dog

I am not a tile expert, but since no one else has responded yet, maybe they are in short supply. Herewith a couple of observations:

Tiling isn't easy.

The substrate for the tile HAS to be very rigid; any flexing at all and the tiles will crack. At a minimum, you want 3/4 ply with 1/2 cement board on top of it.

For installing tile, see any good DIY book or website: steps are: layout dry to establish grids (you want the courses that have to be cut even on both sides); apply mastic with notched trowel; lay tile (pay attention to spacing); let set; spread grout and work it in; sponge off excess grout; let set; polish off the grout haze.

If you're going to use tile in a location where someone might set a hot pan on it, be sure the tile you select2 won't crack from heat.

Since the tile will be outdoors, where it is dirty, sealing the grout after it has set up is important or you'll never be able to clean it.

Good luck.

Comment

RGad