X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• working with reclaimed red oak

I am completely new to this type of work and am trying not to make any mistakes.
    I am making a dining room table. I am going for a look that is rustic, but not picnic table rustic. I want a nice dark, antique worn looking finish. I want to keep the skin on the wood for a lot of texture and feel.
    I have been experimenting on a scrap piece and so far I am planning on sanding it down so some areas are smooth and others rough - some show saw marks, some don't etc.
    Then I will stain with minwax red mahogany or red oak - not sure just yet. I notice that some area of the wood are much more porous than others and quickly turn very dark. ( should i adjust for this with sanding those areas smoother or using less stain or both.)
    I will finish with waterlox original.
    Thats it.
    Does anyone have any other suggestions tips etc.
    Thanks

Re: working with reclaimed red oak

Oak can be kind of tricky to finish. The grain will raise depending on the type of grain cut you have. A quartersawn piece will raise different from a flatsawn piece. You can try using a sanding sealer before you put your finish on, and even experiment with the sealer before staining. Although with a rustic look, the inconsistencies can be part of the beauty of the project.