X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HVLP Sprayers?

I have never used a sprayer before, but I just bought a HPLV spraygun at HF. But after looking through old issuses of WWJ (June 2007) I read the HVLP Spray Gun Shoot out and all the guns they tried have a compresser that comes with the gun. The one I bought has the tank on the top unlike the ones on the bottom. The question I have is, can't I use my shop air compresser with my gun if I turn down the presser? I thought I had read here of someone getting one from HF. Any help would be great. I don't think I want to start using this thing without knowing more info. Thanks

Re: HVLP Sprayers?

After I posted my question, went ahead and looked at other searches for spray guns. Still not sure if this gun only needs my air comresser (Craftsman 1 HP 3 Gal 125 PSI) I only want to use stain and Poly with it for now. I read that the waterbase poly is better because of the cleanup/smell. Alot of the posts I read said they have an air compresser but not much about the size needed for my use. Again any help would be nice. Thanks

Comment

Originally posted by ernurse View Post
      After I posted my question, went ahead and looked at other searches for spray guns. Still not sure if this gun only needs my air comresser (Craftsman 1 HP 3 Gal 125 PSI) I only want to use stain and Poly with it for now. I read that the waterbase poly is better because of the cleanup/smell. Alot of the posts I read said they have an air compresser but not much about the size needed for my use. Again any help would be nice. Thanks
      The gun should say how many CFM it needs. For example this one:
      http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...emnumber=46719
      Needs 3.7CFM.

A similar compressor to yours puts out 2.4CFM:
      http://www.kmart.com/shc/s/p_10151_1...1023x272xTier3

You can probably use the gun, but you are going to need to spray a little bit, then wait for the compressor to catch up.