Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ts3660 startup squeal

Hi,
    I'm a beginning woodworker with a ts3660 saw, which I like very much. Got the Forrest WWII thin-kerf blade for Christmas, though, and after a few uses of the saw with this new blade, the saw now makes a loud squeal on startup for a half-second, then appears to run normally. My (uneducated) guess was that either the blade arbor or the belt was slipping on startup, and then catching up with the motor, which I figure can't be good either way.
    I have:
    removed the blade, cleaned the arbor and blade, replaced and retightened it. Still squealing.
    Tightened the belt by loosening the hex bolts and sliding the motor backwards, though I'm afraid to tighten it up too much. Still squealing.
    Anyone had this problem? Thanks in advance,
    Luke

Re: ts3660 startup squeal

Try putting another blade on the saw. If the squeal is not there any longer than the problem could be a bad WWII. Check the blade for flatness also.
    Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

This is from the 3650 but the 3660 manual should be pretty much the same with respect to mounting the motor. It's not much to go on but you need to have the motor adjusted such that when the blade is lowered below the table there is tension on the belt and also when raised to full height. You said you were afraid to put too much tension on the belt but the weight of the motor is what tensions the belt if its set up correctly.
      Attachment
      Attached Files
      ---------------
      Light is faster than sound. That's why some people seem really bright until you hear them speak.
      ---------------
      “If I had my life to live over again, I'd be a plumber.” - Albert Einstein
      ---------
      "Its a table saw.... Do you know where your fingers are?"
      ---------
      sigpic http://www.helmetstohardhats.com/

Comment