X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• oak finish is too red

I am having a built in bookshelf modified and the finish on the new oak is way too red compared to the old oak, which was never red to start with. I don't know if the elderly carpenter who is doing the work will be willing to redo it. He used one of the stain and finish products for the first time on this project. He matched oak for me before using the regular stain and it matched quite well. Help! I'm not very experienced at finishing and refinishing wood, but I will tackle this if I have to. (Carpenters/painters in this neck of the woods are few and far between.) Any tips would be appreciated.

Re: oak finish is too red

IN the simple if the stain penetrated the wood to any depth your probably best to decide to live with it,

If it is in the finish, and the finish can be striped off, then you may have some luck to repair the "damage".

If the conversation was such that it was agreed to using a diffrnet product, and he did a switcheroo, on you then, some one has a problem, if nothing was totally agreed up on then more than likely you need to like red more.

the simple of the situation no one is going to like the out come, and some one is going to lose money more than likely.

stripping and getting down to original wood (especially to accept a stain properly after a finish has been on it is not easly), If it modern veneered sheet goods then very little sanding can be done.

Depending on the difficulty of the piece, rebuilding may be the easiest option. striping and scraping and sanding is very time consuming, any old finish left in a crevice or corner, will show up like a search light in the new stain,

the other option I could see is to use the "new" finish to re coat the rest of the bookshelves, and see if you can match the "old" to the "new". do on a unseen surface first, or some thing that was tore out, to test on. (DO not make it a bigger mess).