X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm a dummy

Just a word to the wise. I am relatively new to ww'ing and have learned a valuable lesson today. If one doesn't use the splitter and kickback machinism that comes with the 3612, use some sort of after market unit. After 17 stitches and a bone chip in my right index finger, Iwill not make another cut without one. Also, it is good to see mostly questions and opinions on something other than colors and betrayal a9or imagined betrayal) by Ridgid. Be careful.

Sorry to hear of your misfortune, if you want to be optimistic and look at the bright side, at least you are not missing any digits. Hope you have a speedy recovery.

Woodslayer

Comment

tcaniff:
      please explain exactly how this happened and maybe we can asess what NOT to do. Did you by chance "wedge" the stock between the blade and fence?
      or was this freak accident?
      Fred Drake

Comment

Very very sorry to hear of your mishap. The only time I have ever used the spiter/guard was right after I set it up for a photo to put on my web site. I have never used either. I've wore a few purple spots on the belly as proof.

I removed the motor and blade today, in hopes of assembling a poster board template to the blade dust collection I wanted to make for my 2424 in hopes of eliminating the unavoidable mess it makes. What I found is, when I set up the saw with the dual rails is there was not enough room for the mount for the spliter/guard in a 45 degree angle. So I just kept cranking when it bound up. The mount split, so even if I wanted to, I couldn't use it.

I will replace it, somewhere down the road I may find the need for it. I mostly use scraps of wood as guides and hold downs, and featherboards. Doing what you did, you know your mistakes now. And what to look out for in the future. Configuring your own safety measures is an honest way of not using the stock safety equipment.