X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Musings of a Novice

Tonight I worked on my first major project ... the beginning of my garage workshop. I ordered the plans from New Yankee Workshop and am modifying them based on my budget. Getting into a project like this is a good learning experience. You begin to see why good tools, and the right tools, make the job easier. I was very fortunate to get my first tools from a friend at a real bargin. They needed some cleaning up and a few parts replaced but there could not have been a better deal around for a beginner. After tonight I know I am saving up for the TS3612. My current saw leaves a lot to be desired but I am thankful to have one to learn with. Considering I am new to woodworking my projects are going well. It is all a learning experience and great fun. I love to watch New Yankee but until you roll your sleeves up and dig in you really can't appreciate all that goes into a project. I'm having fun learning from my mistakes and increasing my skills. I'm also glad I stumbled accross these forums while researching table saws. You guys are a great source of information.
    Alan
    My Shop

Good luck Alan!

You're right about the difference between watching an experienced craftsman like Norm and doing the stuff yourself. There are so many, seemingly minor, tasks that can turn into real obstacles. If there wasn't a little challenge, though, I suspect it wouldn't be as gratifying when you complete a project. That's what makes it fun.

Comment