No announcement yet.

Need New Hand Plane Help

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need New Hand Plane Help

I am a very new woodworker on a fairly tight budget. I am going to be making several tables and want to do the best i can to get them perfectly flat and smooth. I do all of my planing and jointing upfront but once i am ready to get serious about finishing i know i am going to need to use planes to get that perfect smooth surface.

The problem is I am clueless when it comes to planes. I know i see them at the airport but that's about it....kidding......

I can't afford the high end planes. LN and Veritas are out. I have been looking at Groz, Woodriver(Woodcraft brand) and Footprint. Are these any good? I am thinking i would need a jack plane, block plane and smoothing plane? Is that about right for my table top needs?

I also know zero about keeping them sharp but i realize that this is almost more important that the plane itself. Any good, affordable sharpening systems? I have seen the "scary sharp" system and was going to start there.

All advice welcome and appreciated.

Re: Need New Hand Plane Help

Not really a hand plane expert, but have had some experience,

the length of the base, is the main difference of the plane, the jointer is about 24" long,
    a smooth plane is 12" and a jack is in between, the block is 6" to 8" and has a lower angle of attack on the blade, (for end grain lumber) and there are specialty planes, as well,

my guess is one could get a used one cheaper than a new one, if it is not rare,

EBay or craigslist or similar garage sales, auctions,

the longer the base in theory the flatter or straighter you should be able to make something,

I think I would suggest a smooth or a jack plane for your project,