X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Portable or Contractor Table Saw?

I'm new to this and greatly appreciate any advice. I am planning to purchase a new table saw soon to accomplish the following:
    (1) Ripping stock for baseboards, door and window casings, crown moldings to width.
    (2) Ripping and crosscutting oak, birch, and maple plywoods for building stand alone and build in shelving and cabinetry projects.

I have a place for storage, but the saw will have to be pulled out for use, because of storage issues. Because the saw will have to be pulled out, I was going to go with a table saw, such as the Ridgid TS2400LS for portability, but can I achieve accuracy and top build qaulity with the TS2400 for these types of uses? Things I am looking for in a table saw are accuracy, plenty of power, stability, and reliability.

After looking at the Dewalt portable with stand, Craftsman portable with stand, Delta 36-650, Ridgid TS3650, and the Ridgid TS2400, I am impressed with Ridgid qaulity, but have heard many issues on this forums relating to hard to obtain parts?

Any advice wheather or not to go with a portable such as the TS2400 or a contractor saw? Again, all help is appreciated.

[ 06-27-2004, 04:17 PM: Message edited by: rover1 ]

Portability is about the only advantage a jobsite saw will have over a decent contractor saw. The extra table size (especially at the front edge before the blade), more powerful/quieter/and reliable induction motor, mass, and cast iron trunnions of a good contractor saw add up to what is IMO a better wwing saw for the long run. It should also have better resale value. Lots of things can be cut and cut well with a jobsite saw, but if there's anyway to fit in the extra couple of square feet the CS takes up, that's what I'd recommend.

Comment

I started w/ a Makita portable TS, and quickly sold that on eBay and bought myself a TS3620.