X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kreg Jig

I am considering buying a Kreg Jig kit from HD. The model is the K4 for $99.00. Any one had experience with one of these? Looks like it would be very useful. The salesman at HD really gave me the sell. Any input would be appreciated!

Re: Kreg Jig

A friend of mine has one, he said its great. I seen some cabinet doors he made with it & they look like a pro did it.

Comment

I have a K3 Standard System and I enjoy using it. I am a noob in woodworking and this jig helped me building cabinets and racks a breeze. From everything I read, pocket-hole joinery is very strong, too.

I hope you are referring to "K3 Master System", $99 will be one GREAT price for it, however if you are referring to "K3 Standard System", then I suggest you to shop around, Standard system should run at $70-ish .. although I think Kreg is phasing out the Standard system and only market the higher-end Master Syataem. The jigs are identical except that Master System has additional bits and pieces for bench-top mount.

BTW, you might as well buy some extra pocket-hole screws, what came with the K3 ain't enough

Happy shopping.

Comment

Sorry, I mis-read. you're referring to K4. not K3. My bad.

Comment

Originally posted by Norsky View Post
          I am considering buying a Kreg Jig kit from HD. The model is the K4 for $99.00. Any one had experience with one of these? Looks like it would be very useful. The salesman at HD really gave me the sell. Any input would be appreciated!

Well, it looks like $99 is the going price w/o discounts. Be sure to at least use the USPS 10% off coupon if shopping at the BORG or Lowe's. Better yet, this is one item that Rockler's 20% off coupon might work on. I would shoot for the K3 Master system with a coupon if the budget allows...more goodies and more convenient. Not much more $. Have fun!

Comment