X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grizzly v.s. Yorkcraft Equipment

I am looking at buying a 15" planer & a 8" joiner. I am comparing Grizzly to Yorkcraft(Wilke Machinery).

Grizzly:

G1021 15" planer with open stand: $725.00
    G1018HW 8" X 65" joiner $675.00

Yorkcraft:

YC-15P 15"planer with closed stand $699
    YC-8P 8" X 72" joiner $649.00

Does anyone either own or have any comments about the above listed equipment? I am just getting started in woodworking, but don't see that I should waste my money buying a 6" joiner & portable planer and then in 6 months or a year want to upgrade.

I currently own a 15 year old Craftsman table saw with a new Ridgid fence, a Craftsman band saw, a Ridgid RAS and smaller power tools.

Thanks.
    People always ask: Who is Bigboss? He is my dad. Even though I am 40 years old, he is without a doubt STILL the big boss.........

LB -

It is my understanding of the Wilke line that the Bridgewood is the 'Professional' line and the Yorkcraft is the 'Hobbiest' line. The Yorkcraft will probably serve you well for a lot of years.

gator

Comment

I know that the Grizzly line will serve you well for a number of years. I have several pieces of Grizzly equipment & I have a friend that has Grizzly equipment also.

Go here & read some tool reviews by a wood working pro, also look around his web site & see the kind of work he does with Grizzly tools & E-mail him if you like.

http://www.cjohnhebert.com/toolreviews.htm

Comment