table saw dilemma

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• table saw dilemma

I just bought the Ridgid TS3660 for 399.00. I am concerned that I would rather have the new 4511 for 599.00.

Can you offer an opinion on whether I should buck up another 200.00?
    I'm a hobby woodworker in a garage type shop.

Thanks and nice forum you have here!

Re: table saw dilemma

Lets see, what can the 4511 do that the 3660 can't? All I can come up with is that the 4511 will take up a smaller footprint than the 3660. On the other hand, the 4511 has a rip capacity of 30" while the 3660's is 36". I see no distinct advantage of a granite top over a cast iron one either.

If the equation boils down to what will you get for that extra $200, IMO, the answer is not much.
    ================================================== ====
    All of us could take a lesson from the weather. It pays no attention to criticism.

Comment

I was going to hold out for the 4511 but got to the point where my old saw was just no longer up to the tasks I was trying to do. I bought the 3660 and haven't had a second thought about it. It's a great saw. I'm sure the 4511 is also a great saw, but truthfully it won't do anything more than the 3660. The big differences are the granite and smaller footprint and to me, it's not enough to make we want to upgrade. Both are nice features, for sure, but I'm very pleased with the 3660.

It has to be a personal decision, but you have a great machine in the 3660.

Comment

Dave - Don't overlook the advantages of a riving knife, 150# more mass (50%!), cabinet mounted trunnions, improved DC, shorter drive belt, and a steel t-square fence. You're right about the stock rip capacity, but the fence on the R4511 can be shifted to the right for more if needed. Both rank very high on the value scale for what they offer IMO.