X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ridgid Jointer Newbie Question

I am new to woodwork and I am curious if I get a Ridgid jointer will it work on boards that are 8' long? Since the bed is 45" long I am unsure if I can keep the board on the bed plane to really get straight or would I be better suited to take the bow out of boards on a table saw with a jig like I have been doing?

Thank you for the help, Paul

Re: Ridgid Jointer Newbie Question

Yes, you can joint boards that are 8' long on the Ridgid jointer. If you feel uncomfortable trying to joint a board that long you could always use an additional helper like the Ridgid Flip Top Stand or a roller stand on the outfeed side of the jointer.
    Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

potratz,

Welcome to the forum.

I live in Albany. If you want to try mine you are welcome to it. I don't think I have any 8' stuff around here. Just grab a 2x4, or I will, and give it a try.

PM me if you would like.

Tom

Comment

That's a great offer.

Yup, I've been eyeballing a Ridgid jointer.

I have the 13" planer.

Comment

Sure it will work fine on boards that long. With a little practive you can even go longer. You will need some outfeed support like a roller to make it easy to handle.

Comment

I would also suggest some infeed support as well as outfeed support. I have this joiner and love it but i think you would have a lot of trouble trying to start an 8 foot board without infeed support.

I will be making a garage workbench in the spring and plan on joining and planing all surfaces of the 2X4 lumber I'll be using...

I have the 4330 planer as well and love it.....

Comment

Thank you for all the help! Tom great to connect with someone local so I will contact you soon.

NOW if HD would just put the jointer on sale...$429

Should have snatched one when they were in the mid 3's