X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shellac over oil-based stain?

I'm really embarrassed to even be asking this, but I've searched here, at Sawmill Creek and even at shellac.net, and I can't find a specific answer to this:

Can shellac be used over an oil-based stain (Minwax)?

I have read that shellac "can be used over almost anything", but Zinsser's site (or the can) does NOT say it's OK over previously oil-stained wood, and I just want to be sure so I don't ruin a project! All the talk seems to be as a sealer or over bare wood.

Oh... the second reason of embarrasment is that the project is actually a spice rack.... the quintessential beginner's project!

Thank you in advance for any help!

Re: Shellac over oil-based stain?

I'm no expert but I can't see any reason why you couldn't use it. I've never used it myself but I always thought it was used instead of stain. It's use may change the color of the stain you've already put down.
    Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

Thank you for your reply!

That's actually what I'm hoping for. I want to "warm up" the stain color a bit to better match all the wood in the kitchen so am hoping to use an amber shellac.

I'm using a test board, but because I can't find anything definitive for an answer, I'm a bit paranoid that a mis-match in products will cause a problem down the road!

Comment

To avoid disappointment, make sure that you prepare your test board in the same manner that you've prepared the spice rack, i.e. go through the same sanding steps that you did with the project.

Oh, and welcome to the group.

Comment

Years ago, shellac was always used as a sealer over stain. It was quick drying, easy sanding and took a coat of varnish very well.

Comment

Thanks guys... both for the advice and the welcome.