Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My musings on my first 2 weeks in serious woodworking.

I am a newbie on this type of construction. I have done everything else woodwise but not a whole lot with table saw, router, etc. After much much research I bought the 3650, it had the cast iron top, 36 inch cut, Herculift, etc. I added every safety feature that I could get my hands on-I'm a pianist and organist and an IT manager. I even got that dual rubber wheel hold down gizmo. The fence is great. I guess a Beis. would be better but everytime I ask it for 2.5 inches I get 2.5 inches. And what could be better than all those slots on the fence. The Delta that I looked at today had like about 4 bolt holes and no tracks on the fence. It did however not move one iota when I tried to budge it. I think one of the reasons that the 3650 moves when you tug on it is that the herculift drags a little bit so it doesn't truly rest on the ends of the legs. I'm going to play around with it but moving this thing around in my garage every night is a dream. I thought I lost a bolt off the 3650 today so I called Ridgid and they sent me a blow up and parts list of the whole 3650 in an email so I like the CS so far.

I fired up the Freud dado set and I have another post on that so I won't go into it now except it looks pretty frightening especially when it is covered by a 2 x 4 over the zero clearance plate in order to make the first cut in it.