X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RIGID DP1550 and Mortise Attachment

I am looking for a good drill press that can also serve as a mortiser until my budget allows for a dedicated mortiser (could be a while). Most of the posts I read are older and relate to the DP1500 iirc.

My main questions are:
    Will I need to do a lot of tweeking to get accurate mortises?
    Will I need to add a stabalizer to the DP table so it doesn't bend/bow?
    Is the RIDGID attachment the only model that will fit the DP1550?

Thanks

Wade

Re: RIGID DP1550 and Mortise Attachment

Hmm...let me try again

Would any one recommend the DP1550 as a temporary mortiser (until I can save up enough for a dedicated tool)? And if so, any setup advice?

note: I am a beginner and can only make things with plans/kits , and all the ones I have call for a few mortises.

Comment

I have the Ridgid DP1550 and the Ridgid mortise attachment. The mortise attachment works fine with the exception of the fence. I have replaced the fence with a shop-made one that I clamp to the DP table. It was a simple thing to make and works fine. The fence that comes with the Ridgid mortise attachment is so fussy to install and setup that I never like to use it. The DP itself is a great product. You can buy a mortise attachment from Home Depot (they sell ones by Delta and one other, I think) that will work on the Ridgid DP. The fence is easy enough to make with some 1/2" ply or MDF and some hardwood supports and clamp surfaces. I could probably work out the fence details into a plan and pm it to you. There's lots out there, though, so just google around and see what you find.
      I put it all back together better than before. There\'s lots of leftover parts.

Comment

Originally posted by Rowdy55 View Post
        My main questions are:
        Will I need to do a lot of tweeking to get accurate mortises?