X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3/4 MDF Ripping on TS3660

I'm an amateur with not a lot of experience with table saws, but am learning quickly and enjoying my new found hobby.

I'm having some difficulties ripping any 3/4 MDF boards that are longer than about 16" as the board seems to get jammed on the splitter.

When this happens I remove the splitter and take extra precautions, but generally do not like to remove safety equipment.

When I remove the splitter I can get the wood cut, but the last 1/2 inch always worries me because I seem to get a fair amount of kickback as I guess I'm pinching the cut with the heavy long MDF rip. A note: I'm using the normal 40 tooth saw blade that came with the saw, and I have the saw teeth roughly 1/4 above the top of the MDF stock I'm cutting.

I feel that there must be an easier way and safer way to rip 3/4 MDF without, 1 - removing the splitter, 2 - without getting the kickback.

If possible I attempt to cross-cut it and use the miter tool, but sometimes it's like a 24" x 16" MDF board and using the miter is impossible.

Suggestions please

bc
    Last edited by binaryclock; 03-12-2009, 11:18 PM.

Re: 3/4 MDF Ripping on TS3660

Check to see if the last bit of the fence is toed in towards the splitter. That's a very dangerous condition and you need to fix it before you do ANYTHING else.

If it's not that, you need to check the splitter and make sure it's lined up properly along it's whole length with the blade. You might also want to check the splitter and make sure it's not wider than the blade (doesn't sound like your problem).
    I put it all back together better than before. There\'s lots of leftover parts.

Comment

Thanks for the reply.

Well it cuts everything else without troubles, ply, spruce 2x4s, it's just the MDF board that seems to get jammed on the splitter... i'm thinking it's because it compresses hard on the splitter.

The splitter and blade are OEM Ridgid TS3660