Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I am new to wood, but need a sander..

Hi,

Can someone recommend a good sander, that would be good for sanding down older furniture that I want to restore..

I have never done this, so any help you offer would be great!
    Help With Your Pool Or Spa Pump?►WeT HeaD Pump Repair ► Watch Me On YouTube: Pool & Spa Pump Repair TV
    New: Pump Repair MagazineNew: Pool & Spa Pump Repair Forums

Re: I am new to wood, but need a sander..

For small to medium jobs I've been really impressed with my Bosch RA hand sander. The orbital action prevents noticable scratches and it's very smooth with little vibration. You can also hook up a shop vac to it to cut down on the dust. For larger jobs a belt sander is the way to go, but you really need to be more careful with these as they can do a lot of damage rather quickly if you're not paying attention.

Comment

For larger flat areas, a good random orbital sander is your best bet. The Ridgid gets good reviews as do many of the other popular brands. Some models come with a variable speed option which some view as a plus while others, I belong to the latter group, say is a waste of money. For corners and tight spot work, there are detail sanders also. As I don't own one of those I really can't help you with a recommendation on a good one.
      Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

I have a Ridgid orbital and it works well. I especially like the long power cord. I also have two Porter Cable pad sanders that I haven't used since I bough the Ridgid a few years ago.

The hook and loop pad wore out on my Ridgid orbital after about a year of hard use. I called customer support and they mailed me a new one for not much money, I think $12.00. The part was here in a couple days. Excellent service.