tools needed for cabinet making

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• tools needed for cabinet making

Part of the agreement with my wife when I got my new saw (3650) was that I would make new kitchen cabinets. I have been woodworking for many years, mostly small projects, but the largest was a platform bed with 6 drawers underneath and a headboard with 2 doors. These cabinets will be a large undertaking, but I think I am up for it. Before I start I was just wondering if there is any tools that are a "must have" that I should get. These will be "mission" style cabinets. Plywood inserts, no raised panels.
    I have the following: TS with stacked dado, jointer, Kreg jig, band saw, cabinet clamps, router, orbital sanders, a dovetail jig which I have never used, and an assortment of hand tools.
    Remeber, this is not a Dream List, just what I would really need.

Thanks

Re: tools needed for cabinet making

Mission style cabinets don't have lots of detail edges, but to round over the straight edges, a router with a small round-over bit would be nice. It's just easier and a lot more consistent that sanding.

A way to consistently gauge the height of your blades and bits is really handy. I don't have one, but I'm seriously considering this kit from Woodcraft.

I also find a good set of machinists squares to be very useful. I find I use them a lot more than I thought I would.

More clamps. You'll need more clamps. I don't know how many you have but you'll need more.
    I put it all back together better than before. There\'s lots of leftover parts.

Comment

Originally posted by vasandy View Post
      More clamps. You'll need more clamps. I don't know how many you have but you'll need more.
      +1

A brad nailer is also very useful when building cabinets.
      ================================================== ====
      ~~Don't worry about old age; it doesn't last that long.

Comment