X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how precise do I need my saw?

I'm fairly new to woodworking. Have made some projects in the past but was never happy with how tight things went together.
    I just bought the 4511 table saw and spent quite a bit of time setting it up.
    Just wondering, Do I need to get the blade alignment better than .002 inches or will that suffice to square things up?
    Hope this question isn't too dumb.
    Thanks

Re: how precise do I need my saw?

Not a dumb question at all. If your saw blade is aligned to within .002" you are good to go! I'd be willing to bet that most people's blade to miter slot alignment is off by .005"-.010" or more (not specific to the 4511) and they never notice it. Even worse is the fence to blade alignment which can vary just by how you lock down the fence or how wide or narrow a rip you are setting up to do. Check your fence to blade alignment at 2" and then check it at 30". Chances are it will be off just because of the tolorence of the front rail it rides on. It is better to have the fence aligned slightly bigger (.005"-.010") on the exit side of the blade so that the saw won't bind and give you a burned or poor cut. Good luck with your saw.

millman

Comment

I agree that .002 is plenty accurate enough for woodworking purposes. More than likely any attempt to fine tune it even further will not be worth the time it will take to it.
      Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

With the R4511 make sure you check miter slot parallelism with the blade angle at 45 as well. If it is out more than .010 or so, I would recommend putting in the time to shim the table to correct. Not sure what the factory tolerances are (but they seem to be pretty loose) Fine Woodworking review indicated theirs was out .032. Mine was out .008 (and that was with the shims they had used under the table at the factory).