X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• finishing poplar

I built a small entertainment center out of poplar and i want to stain it. I've heard of a bunch of techniques and that it can be tricky. I'm a novice but i have plenty of time and patience, but not a ton of money to try all kinds of stains, dyes, primers, or whatever on test pieces. What do you think?

--------------

Ridicule is the inescapable fate of the ridiculous.

Re: finishing poplar

MHO... Poplar is more of a wood to use when you're going to paint. (Paint grade) That being said, I have always painted and never tried staining it. I have read some threads about blotchy spots when staining.
    You may want to use a conditioner prior to staining to try to help even it out. Just my 2c
    Try it on some scrap before you go ahead and do your EC.
    Good luck!

Comment

I have always stained poplar with a number of projects and it turned out very good. I used the Varathane stain that you can buy at HD and General Finish Arm-R-Seal that you can get at Rockler

Comment

Originally posted by penaddict View Post
        I have always stained poplar with a number of projects and it turned out very good.
        As with all other forums... No pictures, it didn't happen

Seriously though, post some pics so we can see how the projects turned out.

Comment

Yes, you can stain poplar.

The following applies to oil-based stains. I have not used water-based.