X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beginner in need of advice!

I'm very new to woodworking and am beginning a mind boggling journey into building drums. (drum sets, snare, toms, bass, etc.) I have a raw shell that I needed to be a 1/4 in shorter and in my impatience (and excitement to use some rollers my room mate and I purchased and rigged up to turn shells) I set the fence to an 1/8 originally wanting a practice run, not thinking that, duh, too much pressure and I'm digging into the fence. That's exactly what happened and I now feel dumb as ever. I'm assuming I need to replace the fence since the now circular indention will compromise true alignment. Am I right by assuming this? Any advice is appreciated.
    Attached Files

Re: Beginner in need of advice!

If the fence is still true add a sacrafical fence of MDF or plywood to the aluminum fence.

Comment

Thank you so much to both of you. I realize I've made a rookie mistake and you're helpfulness is greatly appreciated! I actually just re-cut that same shell, (after sanding down the imperfections) since it was just a practice shell, and the cut was clean. I still want to try and fill that unsightly gouge as well.

Comment

and* sanded down slight imperfections- not after.

Comment

You're not the only one to do something like that...