X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finishing Cocobolo

I just finished making a small box out of a cocobolo wood turning blank. I actually started with a 3"x6"x6" turning block, cut a top off, bored out the inside, and then dadoed the bottom to give it legs. The result is that the grain matches all the way around including the top.

I have never used decorative grain wood before and could use some suggestions for finishing it (this was a test/first try on decorative wood). I borrowed a book on finishing from a friend which was informative but basic. I want a rich looking finish. From the book I and was thinking about tung oil.

One concern is that when I wiped it off with mineral spirits after final sanding, the two end-grain sides temporarily turned black from soaking up the little bit of moisture. I would think that tung oil would do the same thing but more permenantly. Help is greatly appreciated! My only finishing experience is stain, poly, and polyacrylic.

Thanks in advance for any pointers.
    -Robert

I recommend skipping anything oil-based on Cocobolo. The oil that is in the wood contains a chemical that prevents oil finishes from curing. Two, three months dry times aren't any fun at all.

I recommend either shellac, or lacquer. Shellac can be applied by spray, brush or wiping. Lacquer, in my opinion, is best sprayed (there are a couple brush on formulated lacquers, but I find them problematic). Spray cans of lacquer and shellac are available, and shellac is available in pre-mixed cans as well.

If you're interested in any of these paths, I can lend help in application. These are fast dry finishes that act a little different than what you're used to.

Dave

Comment

I have no clue how to help, but sure would like to see a picture when your done, it sounds awesome.
      <a href=\"http://photos.yahoo.com/rixworx\" target=\"_blank\">http://photos.yahoo.com/rixworx</a>

Comment

Dave,