X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drift in my cuts?

I am new at this table saw thing so I would guess my problem probably has a name and a easy resolution.

Problem: When I make a rip cut the part of the sheet I have already cut is drifting/pulling away from the fence. I am pretty sure that my blade is near perfectly aligned with the left t-slot, at least it was when I started.

Does this mean my fence is not aligned with the blade? I used the eccentric lever to align my blade with the left t-slot. does using the eccentric lever have to do with it?

Sure would appreciate your help.

Re: Drift in my cuts?

You have to align the fence with the blade. It shows how to in the manual. Don't use it until you get this solved as you could suffer serious consequences. Aligning the blade with the slot has nothing to do with aligning the fence with the blade. They are two separate adjustments. Again, this is all explained in the manual.
    Last edited by Ray Dockrey; 04-27-2009, 03:23 PM.

Comment

Sorta sounds like it could be a case of operator error to me. If everything is aligned properly this should not happen. Are you sure that when you're moving the stock along through the blade that you're keeping it pressed against the fence? It doesn't take much to have your stock start to drift on you.
      Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

If the blade is properly aligned to the T slots then one should be able to (quick check) the alignment of the fence by the slot, line up over the edge of the slot and look and see if it is parallel or in line,

your blade may be the fault as well if it hit a knot or nail and took the set off of one side your have fun trying to cut straight,

is the cut right?
        is it parallel, say your wanting a 2" wide board, is it 2" wide
        or is tapered, narrower or wider at one end?