X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TS 3650 Arbor and Warranty

c.c david.farr@emrsn.com; charles.peters@emrsn.com <charles.peters@emrsn.com>

Dear Fine Woodworking, John White:

Today, after following your instructions, I contacted Ridgid Tools concerning the defective arbor assembly being shipped on subject tool.

I was informed of the following:

1. 5-6 week lead time
    2. If you change the assembly yourself the 3 yr. warranty is void.

As a former product manager I understand their exposure, but expecting the customer to bring a 300 lb. saw to their service center is unreasonable.

Ridgid/Emerson, should provide on-site service for this issue. I understand there are still saws with this issue being sold. I would have ordered a "stop ship".

Please use your influence with this company to provide a more reasonable solution, and save the impression of a fine tool and its manufacturer. I want my warranty.

Thank you,

Big... I really DO hope your note prompts some action somewhere. I went in and talked to the store manager (and 2 other people) at Home Depot today and they acted like this was the first they'd heard anything about this problem. Maybe it was, but it sure *shouldn't* have been!!

Did you see something in Fine Woodworking regarding this problem?
    ~~Spunky-Monkey~~ <br /> [i]...just monkeyin\' around with wood.[-i]

Comment

Latest issue of Finewoodworking has a blurb from J White and an 800 number to call for a replacement arbor. But as stated if you change it yourself you void your warranty.

Comment

Iv'e heard differing versions of the warranty story. I heard that if you damaged other components of the saw during the repair you'd void you warranty, which makes more sense.

Comment