Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dust Collector or Shop Vac network (Long Post)

I am a newbie and I have had my TS3650 for about 2 weeks now and finally got to spend some time using it this past weekend. My "shop" is in the garage and after working for a few hours the dust was really getting to me. I had been planning on getting a shop vac and setting up a network, but after talking with folks at Woodcraft I don't know if a shop vac would really help. They suggested going with a dust collector instead. I did some reading of old posts and found that some like the HF 2 HP Dust collector setup, but others recommend Jet.

Am I better off with a dust collector network or going with a shop vac and an air filtration system instead? $$ is a factor in my decision.

Thanks for all your help.

skroll-
    I'm new to woodworking as well and recently bought the 3650. So far I have been having good luck using my shop vac as a means of dust collection. I have a Ridgid vac (can't remember the HP but it is their big model) and I haven't had any problems whatsoever with dust control.

In the future, I may decide to actually go ahead and get a dust collection system, but for now I'm using the money I saved to buy some clamps and a dado set.

Comment

skroll

Although a shopvac can be used to remove sawdust from machines, it isn't very good at getting rid of the "bad" dust. Since you are in GA you can open your garage doors during the winter though. If, on the other hand, you want to remove the bad dust from your work area, I would suggest the JET DC-1100CK. The filter on this unit traps a ton of dust.

Look through this site:
      http://cnets.net/~eclectic/woodworki...one/blower.cfm

Bill has done loads of research on removing dust from the woodshop. It will take many hours to read everything he has, but you can skim through and get a good idea.

Here is a reveiw I wrote on my set up awhile back.

September, 2003