X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best way to make half lap joints?

I'm just getting into woodworking, and so far it's been a lot of fun and very rewarding. My current project I'm working on will hopefully become a set of speaker stands. The design I came up with would probably be easiest to join if I use my 1.5" x 1.5" slats in a half lap joint to form an "X". I have a circular saw to make the cross cuts, though what should I use to remove the wood between the cuts? I was thinking probably some type of chisel. What would be best?

Re: Best way to make half lap joints?

You can use the circular saw to do a dado by moving it over 1/8" (or the thickness of your blade's kerf) repeatedly. You can also do a lot of it that way and then use a chisel to clean up (or do the whole thing with a chisel.

Comment

The multiple cuts to make a dado sounds easy enough, though I'll probably have to make a number of these. Will this put any significant wear on my blade? If so, I'll need to take a look at the cost of another blade vs. the cost of a chisel.

Comment

It's definitely not the best way to do it, but with your limited tools I think that CPW's idea is about the only way to go. 7 1/4" blades are not very expensive and I wouldn't worry about this procedure wearing the blade out either.
        If you have a straight edge, I would use that for the edge cuts (so you know your straight), but you could just do the rest free hand and clean it up with the chisel.
        If you haven’t got a straight edge either, just clamp a board to the work piece that you know to be straight.

Do you have a buddy with a table saw?

Good luck.

Comment