Ridgid 3650 v. Craftsman 22114 / 22124

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ridgid 3650 v. Craftsman 22114 / 22124

I'm a newbie in the market for my 1st TS (actually my 2nd -- I bought and then promptly returned a junky $179 craftsman after cutting 2 boards). I'm struggling between the 3650 and 22114 (and maybe the 22124). My garage space is limited, so I was planning to go with the 3650. However, I've read about the arbor problem and leg issues and am now re-thing. I'm also uncertain on the fence. Although the 3650 gets positive reviews, it seems too plastico -- like the one on the craftsman I returned. My HD guy says he's had a few broken fence handles. The right rip capacity on the 3650 appears better than the 22114 and 22124, but I'm not sure if that makes a big difference -- I'm told I should be ripping sheets of ply with the circular saw. I'd be most appreciative if you cabinet makers could lend some additional insight. I want a saw I can grow into, and only want to buy one. Lots of people say I should get a Delta or Jet and stay away from Ridgid and craftsman. Thanks.

While I'm not an ultra patriot I don’t think it is wise to feed communist China's economy. That is exactly where the Sears machine is made. Also everyone is trumpeting about Orion Customer Service. My question to them is how long do you think that will last? The machine is labeled Sears, Sears not Orion is responsible for the Customer Service. No other company that manufactures for Sears and has their product labeled Sears has anything to do with the product. Now if the product is made by another company and is labeled by that company and sold by Sears, yes they stay involved. But in this case Orion is small company that is trying to get started so they are staying involved until this thing gets going but I doubt it will be much longer.