X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vibration with the r4511

Hi, Im new to Ridgid and this forum. I was hoping someone would have some suggestions. My new saw has a vibration problem. Its not a big vibration, but it has a hum that last about 2 seconds which repeats itself about every 3 seconds. Like I said, the vibrations aren't big, just annoying. The saw also doesn't pass the nickel test (it fell on shut off). I took my time putting the saw together. I checked to see if the arbor and motor were aligned (eyeball with a straight edge). I readjusted the blade twice on the arbor (not that there is much of any play). And the saw is sitting on all fours and everything is level. Does anyone have other suggestions or something Im totally missing?

Re: Vibration with the r4511

Try grabbing onto the rip fence storage hooks and/or the wrench storage hook with the saw running.

Pretty sure mine reverberate a little.

As far as the nickel falling down on shut off, there has been a lot of discussion on how the motor "winds down". Some people experience it, others dont, and some just have it to varying degrees (mine does it, but the nickel doesnt fall over). Ive determined Id rather just save my nickels in a coin jar than test all my tools

Comment

The nickel test proves you have a saw and a nickel, and not much more....not all nickels are the same width. Also, there's a common phenomenon call regeneration that's caused by the caps on an induction motor that can cause a brief shimmy at shutdown, which of course often topples the nickel. The saw should run smoothly during operation though.