X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NEW WOODWORKER QUESTION

I'M A BEGINNER TO THIS HOBBY.I AM CONSIDERING A TS2424 AND THE "CONTROVERSIAL" RYOBI BT3000SX. THE PRICE DIFFERENCE IS ABOUT $170.CAN ANYONE OUT THERE SHARE SOME OBJECTIVE VIEWS BETWEEN THESE TWO UNITS FOR ME.THE EXTENT OF MY HOBBY WILL BE MAINLY SMALLER PROJECTS LIKE CEDAR CHESTS,VARIOUS BOXES,MAYBE A DRESSER OR TABLE,NOT A PRODUCTION SITUATION. THANK YOU KINDLY

Mickey:

Welcome to the discussion group. A few differences in these two saws. First and foremost the TS2424 is a cast iron table saw, while the BT3000 is die-cast aluminum. The table surface is significantly bigger with the TS2424 and the fence is much heavier. The BT3000 is a good saw and it has many supporters, but if you talk to many woodworkers you'll find that they will recommend a cast iron stationary unit over a smaller aluminum unit.

This is just a quick summary; there are many more differences in these two saws. If you have any more questions post them here or you can e-mail me at jacob.schnarre@emersontool.com

Jake

Comment

Mickey,
      Here is another discussion related to your question. Although they are discussing a different application. I just thought it would be helpfull as far as the discussion on what makes a good saw. http://www.ridgid.com/ubb/Forum6/HTML/000001.html Later, Josh

Comment

Mickey,

DO check out
        http://170.181.72.27/ryobi/Files/whybuybt3k.PDF

then check out
        http://www.ryobi.com/cgi-bin/dcforum...conf=DCConfID1