Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hand tools or power tools for beginners?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hand tools or power tools for beginners?

I have talked to a guy I know that has been a woodworker, carpenter, you name it, for almost forever. He told me that seeing as I'm a beginner in woodworking, I should invest in hand tools and "master" those before going to power tools. Do you guys agree?
    <a href=\"http://www.freewebs.com/buctooth\" target=\"_blank\">www.freewebs.com/buctooth</a><br />Please tell us how you like the site, even if you hate it. If you want, feel free to visit the forum.

Buctooth,

I think a lot depends on the kind of work you want to do and of course your skill level. Some people shouldn't go near power tools, ever!

An awful lot depends on the tools and the tasks to be done. There are a number of tasks that are simply better done with hand tools I think and also a number that simply would be a pain if you didn't have power tools. We each have our personal opinions and as you face a task I am sure you will too.

A good example might be dove tailing. There are a number of tools and guides that might indicate a better job could be done by hand and if you were going to make a jewlery box or a small chest, that might prove to be a great experience and one with which your skills could be proudly displayed. However, if you were going to remodel your kitchen and build the cabinets yourself or make a large chest of drawers, hand cutting the dovetailed drawers would be very time consuming. I'd much prefer to do it with a router and a dovetail jig!