X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• R4511 - Featherboards & router wings

I have little experience with table saws and routers. I'm looking to buy a table saw and attach a router table wing. The R4511 looks like a sweet saw and is at the top of my budget limit ($600).

The guy at Home Depot mentioned that I will not be able to use a magnetic featherboard to keep the wood in place as I cut. He didn't seem to think it was a huge deal, but that seems pretty significant to me (of course I know squat about table saws). How do you deal with this issue when you have a granite top? I won't have a freehand to hold the featherboard when cutting larger sheets.

The guy at Home Depot also mentioned I could drill holes in the granite, glue nuts in place, and mount a cast iron router wing to the granite. Does this sound okay?

Does anyone who actually owns an R4511 had trouble with the granite chipping? I've seen threads on some websites about floor models being damaged, but am curious about the experience of actual owners.

What are the downsides of this saw other than the top chipping?

Re: R4511 - Featherboards & router wings

You can use featherboards that work with the miter slot in the table also. A magnetic 1 is more convenient since you can 'stick it' anywhere on the table to assist in your cuts. If you're working with large sheets, 4'x8', you wouldn't be using a featherboard anyway. I can't answer any of your questions concerning the granite top, I hope this helps with the featherboard issue.
    If at first you don't succeed, try reading the owners manual.

Comment

i'd think twice about drilling holes in granite to epoxy nuts in place for anything.
      there's a solution to every problem.....you just have to be willing to find it.

Comment

Originally posted by FINER9998 View Post
        i'd think twice about drilling holes in granite to epoxy nuts in place for anything.