X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Set-up & Adjustment of Radial Arm Saw, RS1000

Got a RS1000 radial arm saw a couple of weeks before Christmas, but I'm new to woodworking and have no experience with tools like this. Am having problem getting part of the adjustments right, I think.

When checking the column rotational play, where you push sideways on the end of the radial arm and feel for movement of the column, I always get a bit of movement, no matter how tight I tighten the set screws on the gibs on the back of the column. The square "spine" on the coulmn does not move, but the column itself does, mostly at the front of the column. I thought that maybe if I tightened up the vertical adjustments (screws/nuts on front of column housing, and brass set screw on front of housing) it would help, but it did not. Result is that column elevation is very tight, almost binding. The brass set screw leaves a brass streak on the front of the column, and there are black areas on the sides of the front of the column from the very tight fit of the housing now.

There never was any vertical play in the column/arm, so that is not a problem.

Can anyone offer any advice or help, please?

I have spent many years with this tool. Biggest mistake I find is that people try to over adjust. Grabbing the arm and pushing on it will in most cases cause flex. Give me a long enough leaver and I can turn over an outhouse. Most important is that you follow the alignment procedure step by step in the order outlined in the manual. I have spent many years teaching on this saw and its earlier versions under the Craftsman label.

Comment

Good Advice.

Mine dialed in to perfection. I even made a special jig to get the blade to cut exactly 90 degrees to the fence. Key thing is there to tighten the set screws at the back to bind the top pieces before tightening the screws on the that hold the top front piece to the frame.