X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Internal cabinet material

Hello I am new to wood working. I was going to build a cabinet using 3/4 red oak plywood for the sides and I was going to build an internal frame. I was wondering what type of wood was recommended? Another hard wood? Or pine? Seem kind of expensive to use red oak inside too.
    Thanks

Re: Internal cabinet material

I think you will find that plywood will be cheaper than any hardwood. I find that when I layout a project there is usually enough leftovers from a sheet or sheets to make the frame. The best part about building yourself is that you can build a better cabinet than you can buy at a fraction of the price. One other plus for using plywood for the frame is that it is dimensionally stable so you will not have to build in allowances for seasonal expansion like you would with 'real' lumber. This may not be as much of a factor for Arizona as it is in my climate (desert dry in winter and rain forest humid in the summer)
    Not sure where you buy your lumber supplies but usually the big box stores are high price for low quality. Try to find a supplier that specializes in hardwood, their hardwood veneer plywood will be much nicer (usually A-2) and it will be flat.

Comment

What do you mean by the "internal frame", usually I think of a cabinet as just a box made of plywood. A plywood box with dados is plenty strong. You might want to use something like prefinished maple plywood on the inside where it won't show on the outside, that way you won't need to finish it and the baked on finish is probably more durable than what you can do yourself.

Comment