X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• saw blades

I'm kinda new to woodworking and to this forum. I have a question about saw blades. I just bought a Ridgid TS 3650. It would seem that the consensus of opinion is that the original saw blade on any saw isn't the greatest. Ridgid's blade seems to cut pretty well for me. My question is it worth the price to get a forrest blade for my new saw or one of the freud blades? I've often heard that you get what you pay for, but is the forrest blade twice as good as the freud blade? Any opinons would be appreciated.

Keith

I have a thin kerf Freud and a thin kerf Forrest Woodworker II. Both are combination blades. I use the Freud for general stuff and saw the Forrest for really important projects. I also have a CMT rip blade and another Freud blade designed for melamine and other manmade materials. All are thin kerf.
    If I had to chose just one blade, it would definitely be the Forrest. I get a little cleaner cut with less, if any, tear out. However, the Freud is certainly adequate and would most likely be a pretty big improvement over the standard Ridgid. At least it was on my TS2424. For what you pay for the WWII, you could add a speciality blade for rips, crosscuts, or manmade materials if you find the Freud combo isn't adequate. It really boils down to what you plan to cut and what you expect. The Freud is a good blade, the Forrest is the best blade.

Comment

I find it very, very difficult to believe that any blade could produce an edge that is twice as good as I get from my Freud blades.

[ 01-30-2004, 08:53 AM: Message edited by: Badger Dave ]
      Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

Dave,