Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Buying Wood?

Hi Guy's,
    I am new at this and I'm getting ready to build the tool box that is shown in this month's issue of Shopnotes. I live in the Northern Virginia area. I called some lumber stores and some hard wood stores to get prices for the Douglas Fir to make this TB. I don't know if they are ripping me off or I am not explaining it correctly. I don't have a planer or a BS to mill the pieces myself.
    Prices range from $120.00 to $189.00. I cleary need some help with this.
    Thanks
    Chuck
    Semper Fi <BR>Chuck<BR>USMC 66-70

I haven't seen the new Shop Notes, so I don't know how much wood you are asking about.

Wood prices vary regionally. Back in California, I could get beautiful Doug Fir for less than I can buy second-rate stuff here in Texas. I would try striking up a conversation with one of the better wood sellers and asking for opinions. Most people are pretty happy to share their expertise, especially when they don't feel like they are getting smoke blown at them.

Dave

Comment

Like Dave said, prices vary by location, and I haven't seen the magazine yet, so I don't know how much wood is involved. I do know that in most places there is a considerable difference in Rough Sawn and S4S lumber. So big that I went and bought the planer and joiner and in less than a year they have saved back their money in the price of lumber. Not sure where you have checked, but check out www.woodfinder.net There are several dealers in your area, you might be able to find somebody else that's a little cheaper.

Comment

Here are what's needed for this project
        1-1/2"x12"-12'
        1-3/4"x8"-10'
        1-1/4"x8"-4'
        and I'm thinking of doing this in Douglas Fir or White Pine. I can't believe that these woods are $6.24 a foot milled. So I'm looking for your expertise to give me some guide lines

Thanks for your help so far

Chuck [img]smile.gif[/img]

Comment