Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Transporting lumber home without a truck

Hi guys,

I'm just getting into woodworking more seriously as a hobby now that I'm a homeowner and have room for a shop. Right now, it seems like one of the bigger hurdles for me is actually getting lumber back to my house. I have all the time in the world to actually spend working in the shop, but that doesn't get me very far without a truck. What do most of you do if you don't have a truck? The options I've considered so far are 1- borrow a friend's truck, but i hate to put people out, 2- rent a truck, 3 - have it delivered, 4 - install a trailer hitch on my car and devise some type of rack system to support sheet goods and longer lumber, 5 - buy a truck.

It gets old asking people for help every time I need some lumber, and renting a truck every time can get pricey. I'd rather not buy one, so I'm sort of leaning towards a hitch and a small utility trailer for my car. For those of you who do it that way, can you share some tips on racks that work for you and how big of a trailer I'd need to carry man made sheet goods along with some 10' boards?

Thanks for the tips.

Re: Transporting lumber home without a truck

I do woodworking all the time, and have no truck and located about 20 miles from the closest source of lumber, I currently have a Jeep Grand Cherokee, which I can fit several sticks of lumber in that are up to 10 foot long, as well as a roof rack I can transport them on. I also have a 4 and 1/2 by 8 1/2 foot trailer that I picked up for about $500 that I can transport up to 20 sheets of 1" ply in, has worked out great and I didn't have to incur the extra expense of renting a truck or borrowing a truck, check with your local home depot or lowes, often times they sell smaller utility trailers for a low cost, that work out quite well. Dp.

Comment