X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie Review of TP1300 Planer

I'm pretty new to woodworking and thought some prospective buyer might appreciate a review of the TP1300 from a "non-pro."

I purchased the TP1300LS last week. Put it together (incl the Herc-U-Lift Plus stand) in about 2 hours. Ran it for a few minutes and then wiped out the shipping grease. Started planning cherry immediately after.

Short version: this is a great tool that delivers as promised. I checked the setup (using a couple of articles off the net) and it was dead-on from the factory. I keep my cuts below 1/16" to minimize wear on the knives and any marring on the wood (don't ask me -- I'm just following hints from the web). Works great! Couldn't believe the quality of finish I'm getting (but I'm a newbie so maybe I'm easy to please). The controls are convenient, I really like (and use) the presets to quickly shift gears when planning 1 side and 1 edge. Also love the depth of cut gague that tells you exactly how much you're taking off the board before you start cutting... has saved me from more than one measurement error...

Works perfectly in combination with my Ridgid jointer to deliver finished boards that are perfect. BTW, my "first" woodworking project is a 12' wide 8' tall built-in bookcase in cherry. The OWMBO is amazed at how nice it is turning out -- in large part due to the combo of the jointer and planer.

I was tempted to buy one of the newer, fancier 2 speed machines with triple knives and I'm glad I didn't. For less money I got the planer, spare knives, stand and dust chute. And, replacement knives are $30 at HD vs $50 per set! Like I said, finish looks great to me! Not sure how it could get better but I'm sure there are more experienced people who could tell the difference.