X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tool Manufacturers

Since I am new to woodworking, I am interested in knowing which brands are made by which companies (in other words, which brands are basically the same tool painted a different color.) I read from a previous thread that Grizzly and Shop Fox are the same.
    What about Jet, Delta,Sunhill, General, etc?

Thanks
    People always ask: Who is Bigboss? He is my dad. Even though I am 40 years old, he is without a doubt STILL the big boss.........

It's really hard to give you a definite answer. Vast majority of tools are made in Asia---(speaking of stationary tools). General has a line (depicted by a Canadian flag on the body) made in Canada, as well as having the International line, which is imported. Delta has a similar split. Jet, PM, Sunhill, York, Griz', etc. are all imported. That doesn't mean they're inferrior, but in my opinion, it means you have to look a bit harder at the features/quality. As to Ridgid, I know the 3612 used to be made here, but now who knows.

Personally, starting out, I'd read as many reviews as you can. Figure what you want/need. But don't overlook companies with good customer service reputations.
    Dave

Comment

Here's how tricky it is. Of the six manufacturers you named:
      Grizzly - importer
      Shop Fox - importer
      Jet - importer
      Delta - manufacturer/importer
      Sunhill - importer
      General - "General", manufacturer, "General International", importer

Many tools are made by companies that are not at all household words, companies like Gee-tech, Mao Shan, Rexxon (spelling on first and last are questionable).

Even when two offerings appear identical, they may not be. Motors, bearings, manufacturing tolerances, and the like may differ on machines that appear identical.

My suggestion is to compare each machine on it's own merit.

Dave

Comment

If I may; I'd like to express my opinion.