X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lumber Measurements

I'm sure this question has been asked before, but my search yield no results. Why does a 2x4 measure only 1.5 x 3.5? Best I can figure, the lumber companies must have been politicians first - promising one thing and delivering another!!

Seriously, what is the reason - why does it measure a half inch less? Yes... I'm new to the world of wood -but learning fast.

Harold

Re: Lumber Measurements

When a 2x4 is first sawed, it is sawed 2"x4". This is referred to as rough cut. It is then allowed to dry or is put in a kiln where it is forced to dry. That process causes the board to shrink slightly and because the shrinkage varies among boards the size of various pieces is then different. The dried lumber is then planed, to again make it uniform in size.

Comment

I agree with Mr Moy. Go to a saw mill and buy rough lumber and it is the actual dimensions. If you want the rough lumber size in a planed board, they would rough cut it a quarter or half bigger.

Now does anybody know if there was ever a time when the processed lumber came in a true, planed measurement. Or has the 1.5X3.5 been the standard since planed, processed lumber arrived on the scene?
      I'm on "The List" and I love it!!

Comment

at one time about 40 years ago the standard was 1 5/8" X 3 5/8" inches for a 2x4,

threads where this has been discussed before

http://www.ridgidforum.com/forum/sho...ber+dimensions

http://www.ridgidforum.com/forum/sho...ber+dimensions

there has been a down sizing of the lumber over the years,

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lumber