X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Moving the Fence (TS2424 TS3612 etc)

What's the worst force you've needed to start the fence moving to position it? Would you estimate 2 to 4 pounds? Some table fences move easily and some are a real bear (misaligned, metal to metal, etc). I will be assembling a 3612 (xmas present) soon as it warms up in my garage. Man, what a heavy box. I plan on designing a drive system for the fence and motor height/angle both. The goal is to not double the cost of the table. It shouldn't cost 24 times the cost of a 2424 as mentioned in an earlier thread. I am certain of the motor height/angle drive's relatively low cost. Fence accuracy, however, is another topic. I am a hobbyist, not a store or a company in case you wondered. (currently a programmer, AutoCAD programmer, and an ex-electrical designer with both servo and metrology background -- almost became a machinist at one time, love working with my hands making things)

Yow, CNC fences are hyper-cool. I was the one posted the control panel from a $14,000 Format-4 yesterday. I wish you the best of luck, that's the slickest high end project idea I've heard of in a long time.

Fence should move very easily I think, but may be susceptible to cocking. Not sure, I haven't played with a 3612 fence.

Dave
    (of course, there are other excuses for the Format-4's price... )

Comment

I don't know how many pounds of force it requires to move the fence, but I know the fence on the 3612 moves a lot easier than the one on the 2424. If it's setup properly and waxed, it moves quite smoothly.

Comment