Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dust collector - what would you do differently?

I am relatively new to this hobby, have been collecting tools over the last few years and now finally have a dedicated basement shop of about 450 sqft.

My next new tool needs to be a dust collector but I am more than a little intimidated by all the info that I have found on the web - particularly the Bill Pentz site and the sites of a few manufacturers.

I would be interested to hear from you guys who have already been through this decision making process what you would do differently.

My tools consist of a table saw, planer, jointer, mitre saw, router table (soon) and assorted hand tools. I could probably line them all up so that one straight run of duct 25ft long could hit them all. Ceilings are a little over 8ft and 240 volts would be doable.

I have considered spending a bunch on a 2hp cyclone and plumbing it with 6" pipe. I have also considered buying multiple smaller units and locating them right next to the tools.

One priority is to catch as much of the fine dust as possible as this is a basement shop and I dont want the family breathing my sawdust.

Thanks for your input.

Re: Dust collector - what would you do differently?

450 sq '! i have a serious case of work shop envy!

for a basement shop, consider an air cleaner in addition to the DC. the DC, set up properly, will get most of the larger stuff, but airborn dust might be a consideration for a basement shop. if you want a piped system, minimum size would probably be 2hp. i would humbly suggest checking out this web site, since you mentioned a cyclone:

http://www.cgallery.com/jpthien/cy.htm