Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help for a good start in woodworking

Hi everyone.
    Just to introduce myself, I am an automotive technician and a tool lovers. I like quality tool like Snap-on and other good brands.
    I have decided to get in woodworking to get something else than mechanic to do and for home projects. I have been shopping for approx 6 months for a saw, went on many stores and web sites. The Ridgid TS2424 always came on top with few others way more expensive.

I had a crush on the TS2424 when saw it at HD,however because of it's price my lack of knowledge in woodworking I did not want to invest that much. I was waiting for HD to get the TS2400 on promotion with the two wheels stand. What a nice surprise when I got the HD flyer last wednesday and found the picture and the description of the TS2424 on page 3, retail price $696.00 CAD
    FYI:
    Live Rates as of 2001.10.15 03:08:59 GMT. 696.00 CAD Canada Dollars = 446.063 USD
    United States Dollars
    1 CAD = 0.640896 USD 1 USD = 1.56032 CAD
    However it was a huge misprint, the model advertised was TS2414 which in fact does not exist as far as I know.

Being shopping for that long I kind of figure it was a mistake and went to HD. After 2 days of hard work, I finally got it for that price. I haven't open box yet but I am very proud of it.

Now I am seeking for good web sites, magazines and books to learn the basic about using a table saw to it's max.
    I so far went to the following URL:
    Carpentry Using a Table Saw

Home page :
    Home Improvement Encyclopedia
    Any other web sites to suggest?
    Does Ridgid plans to provide good tips for biginners on his websites with illustrations or videos?

Thanks to Ridgid for this website, I would probably never bought this saw if it was not lifetime warranty and this web site did not exist. Keep up with the good work! Denis. [img]smile.gif[/img]

Oops