Bending Wood, It can't be this hard!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bending Wood, It can't be this hard!

I have spent the day trying to reproduce a corner cabinet in my kitchen. On the original cabinet, the shelves are trimed by a 1/4"x3/4" piece of wood bent to follow a half round piece of 3/4" plywood.
    I have tried steaming, boiling....everything but Shake and Bake and cooking in the oven intill tender, but still the middle of the bend breaks out.
    I'm using Poplar.
    I'm steaming...boiling for about ten minutes.
    Any ideas???
    Rob Johnson
    Orange,Ca.

[ 05-12-2003, 08:11 PM: Message edited by: Backyard Woodworker ]
    Just tilt your head a little and it will look straight!

I wish you would have asked this question back in 1975, when I studied bending in school!

I would do a search on the internet, there is got to be a page somewheres on bending. If I remember right, there was chemicals involved, and a lot more time than 10 mintues invovled in bending wood. And the arc can not be all achieved at once. It's an ongoing process. One of those 8th virtue things.
    John E. Adams<br /><a href=\"http://www.woodys-workshop.com\" target=\"_blank\">www.woodys-workshop.com</a>

Comment

Re steaming: Disagree on chemicals, agree on not nearly enough time, disagree on not all at once. If you don't make the bend all at once, you don't make the bend. Most woods cannot be steam bent twice.

I'm durned if I can remember the proper time. Try a half hour, then an hour. Quarter inch is pretty thin, but you have to get it steamed through and through. I have no idea what Poplar's bending performance is, some woods just don't bend worth diddley.

Dave

Comment