X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which brand bandsaw blades?

I'm new to band sawing and have no idea which brand of blades give good value for the money. I plan to be mostly cutting thick hardwoods. Resawing and blanks for lathe work. I am aware that lowest price may be more expensive in the long run, and most expensive may be not worth the high price.
    So, I am asking for the opinions of you experianced woodcutters.
    I can buy MK Morse brand at the local True Value hardware and I prefer to shop locally.
    I will soon be traveling to the nearest Woodcraft store where Olson Flexback, Olson allpro, Woodcraft, Timberwolf, and Carter are avalable.
    Are there other brands that I should consider?
    Your input will be greatly appreciated. Foggy

Re: Which brand bandsaw blades?

Timberwolf- First and top choice.

Don't have any experience with Carter blades. But, everything else they make for bandsaws is quality, so blades may be the same.

If they don't have the size/teeth combo you want, then settle for Olson pro. But the rest of that list are mediocre.

Comment

I just bought a timberwolf blade for resawing but have not used it yet. My only other experience is with Craftsman blades (which worked well for me) and I am sure the timberwolf blades will be a big improvement. One thing about the timberwolf blades is that per the instructions they are a little funky to adjust and I have no idea if I did it right. Once I make a cut I will probably know, hopefully.

Comment

Has any one ever broke a blade? My first time I did it sound like a gun going off. I jumped into rafters of my barn and that's like 15' up there. Who ever said white men can't jump, I would have made Michael Jordan proud.

I like craftsman but not for band saw blades go with Timberwolf

Comment

Originally posted by DanLawrence View Post