X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jointer Blade Reinstallation Follow Up Question

Thanks to all those who replied to my earlier question regarding installation of the jointer blades. Finally got around to reinstalling the blades today and found it harder than I thought. I 'bottemed' the blade onto the jackscrews and adjusted them to the bottem of the straightedge which is resting on the outfeed table (exactly as per the instructions and as per Jake's response). However, when I tightned the lock screws, I noticed that the blade had moved slightly. How precise should I be? I went at it for several hours and I think I now have it pretty close. Since this is my first time, I am not too sure what tolerances I should expect. I do not have the magnet system that Michael was referring to (would like to know the name of it though!). Second thing, if I line up the blade to the straightedge front and back, I notice that it may not touch at the midpoint or other points of the blade. This leads me to believe that the blade edge was not sharpened properly - I mean the width of the blade is no longer consistent making it impossible to achieve each portion of the blade touching the straightedge as I described above. Is this a good conclusion? Do I now have to buy new blades as a result?

To check if the blades were sharpened correctly, pull the blade and place it vertically, sharp edge down on a piece glass or some other know flat surface. There should be no gap all the way across.

As far as the knives moving when you tighten the bolts, I've found it helps to tighten each bolt just a 1/8 to a 1/4 turn each time working across the wedge until the bolts are good and snug.

Jake

Comment

T-45,

Here's the link on to the Woodcraft page where I got the magnetic tool, called the Magna-Set.