X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The RIDGID Table Saw Fence

Time after time on this and other forums, I keep reading that the plastic handle on the RIDGID fence is a cheap POC and that it eventually will break off. I'm wondering if this is really true or just another unfounded(made up) allegation. Granted, I've seen them broken at the local HD but I don't think thats an everyday environment. Between the kids and adults that don't have the slightest idea how to operate these things, I'm amazed that any display model at HD or Lowes even resembles what it's supposed to look like.

So, I'm wondering, has anyone ever had one of these handles break off under normal shop use? I've been using mine now for over two years and its as solid as the day I brought it home.
    Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Hi Dave
    I am new to this forum. Igot my saw in oct. 04. It has been used every day. I have not had any trouble from mine. if debre builds up behind the rear lock & the back rail it could make it tight enough to break. I lov my ts3650.
    Ronnie
    never regret growing old It\'s a privlige denied many.

Comment

I think you hit the nail on the head Dave. I'm sure that some of these stories stem from broke displays at the stores. I know I have replace the one at my store twice in four months. But it is from being hit with everything for lumber carts to pallet jacks to people letting their kids play with them. And once from a man just cranking on it the wrong way until it snapped off. It is a full time job just trying to keep my displays looking nice with all the parts there.
      Jeff

Comment