X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Constant 3650 Setup

I'm fairly new to fine woodworking but have been in construction all my life and do have some feel for quality in a tool. I'm wondering about this saw I bought. I do like the tool in a lot of ways, the roller lift is worth it's weight in gold, speaking of weight I like the weight of the saw as I can trust if to be there while I focus on the work peice and the blade, etc.

I do seem to have problems with having to constantly set the machine up for square (blade, fence, mitre). Is this just one of the tasks necessary to do "fine" woodworking or should I be able to depend on the saw more? The biggest thing that strikes me as annoying aligning the blade and the fence. Seems I cannot trust it to be parallel to the blade without having to set the front, hold it and adjust the back and then lock it down. Are my expectations off here?

I've just given up on the fence guide scale. There's no way I can trust that to be accurate for anything other than rough in framing work.

So if y'all can help me set realistic expectations I'd appreciate it greatly. If I've bought the wrong machine please let me know that as well.

Thanks!

Once adjusted a fence should line up parallel and be repeatable every time you line up the cursor to a mark. One of the knocks on fences that lock front and rear is they can be locked down in an out of parallel position.

Don't know if you bought the wrong machine or not, but that fence is one of my biggest complaints of the saw. Others seem to deal with it, but they may have never tried a good t-fence design. If we could talk Ridgid into putting a Biesemeyer type fence on this saw, it would be tough to beat for the money.

Comment