X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• consistent accurate crosscuts

This may be a real simple question, and it may just be that accuracy will come with practice, but what is the best way to crosscut several pieces to exactly the same length? I've tried putting a block on the rip fence and using that as a guide, but sometimes they still are not right. Is it possible that my saw is out of alingment. When I see that some of you measure to the nearest .0001 it makes me wonder. I am not talking major differences hear, but maybe 1/16 of an inch. What do you do when the piece to crosscut is longer than your rip fence will go out?
    Any help would be nice, Thanks

Re: consistent accurate crosscuts

Artho,

I use a Radial Arm Saw! That's never a problem doing cross cuts on any length... But I know that's NOT the answer you want to hear.

I'm relatively new to the table saw and mine is a Ryobi BT3100 which has a sliding miter table. For me, that's much easier to do cross cuts on... but again, most saws don't have that.

I think the biggest challenge to doing crosscuts on a table saw, is of course making sure the piece doesn't slip while you're manuevering it into the blade.

As you mention doing, setting up a block on the fence is the proper method, as I understand it... hence, there should be no binding with the fence as you advance the miter guage. But, the miter gauge, IMHO, has so little surface to it, that the stock undoubtedly slips enough as to be inconsistant.

You could try to screw some piece to the miter gauge to increase it's support surface and glue some sandpaper to the edge so provide more friction and thus increase the friction on the face where you place your stock.

They also make a miter gauge that has a hand-levered clap to hold you stop firm, as you advance.

Lastly, you could build yourself a cross-cut sled, that uses both miter gauge tracks and has a much wider supporting area for stock to be cross-cut.