Wiring 4511 for 220v

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wiring 4511 for 220v

The power cord that comes with the saw seems adequate, but i'm no electrician. Should I use a heavier gauge cord?

On a side note the manual states "only install the dust chute when using a 4" dust collection system. failure to heed this warning result in serious personal injury or death..."

Is my dust chute going to murder me?

Re: Wiring 4511 for 220v

safest thing to do is to use a 220v outlet with mating plug. that way, no one's going to plug a 110v appliance into an outlet that's been wired for 220v thereby frying the 110v appliance. it would also prevent the 220v appliance from being plugged into a 110v outlet with all the potentially negative implications of that mistake.
    there's a solution to every problem.....you just have to be willing to find it.

Comment

Originally posted by bublin254 View Post
      Is my dust chute going to murder me?
      Yes... Yes it is...

You see...

It's watching you...

Waiting...

Plotting your demise...

That and if your cabinet fills with saw dust it'll fubar your motor.

Comment

You need to use a dedicated 220 Volts single phase outlet and a 4 prongs plugs.
        The cord gauge would plenty if you wanted to reuse it, as the amperage in 220Volts is one half of in110 volts but a 110 volts cord has only 3 conductors but you need 4 conductor for 220Volts,which means that you have to replace the cord.
        Some people believe that they will get more power running 220Volts, this is not true. The horse-power remains the same.
        This would be different if you could run 3 phases but the motor on the saw will not accept 3 phases.
        I hope this help.
        Bert

Comment

Would you mind explaining to me why you need 4 wires? Where are you going to terminate the neutral,if u were to wire this motor with 220v?

I'm soo confused!!

Comment